Clothe yourself with Christ: The Husband Journal Number 29

Botanical Gardens 003

Colossians 3:12 Put on therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, bowels of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering:

As followers of Christ, we are to clothe (put on Christ) ourselves with Christ.  When I think of the word “clothe”, it is a pretty strong verb.  Clothing yourself means you wear something twenty-four hours of the day.  Meaning we should clothe ourselves with Christ every minute of the day.

That seems like a pretty tall order to fill.  I feel at times I don’t measure up to that tall order at all.  And if you ask my family, I am positive I fail in some way during the day because often I feel torn in many directions throughout the day.

But the Bible is clear that we should put on bowels of mercies, kindness, humblness of mind, meekness, and longsuffering.  Wow!!  That’s quite a bit to think about.  I just pray that the Lord helps me every single day with this.

Yes, I believe with all things that showing kindness, mercy, meekness, and longsuffering starts at home with my family. This verse convicts me so much…………how many times did I say something throughout the day that wasn’t longsuffering to my husband and my children????  How many times have I been short-tempered with interruptions throughout the day?

I have a toddler in my home and I think of how she needs help with putting her clothes on.  I help my foster daughter with everything down to her socks and shoes.    The Lord knows our shortcomings and he is there to help you with this tall order.

Sometimes my husband gently reminds me that I return to “clothing myself with Christ.”

Praying today for the saints and wives with children in the home.  I pray that we all seek Christ and clothe ourselves with him so that we can live quietly with bowels of mercy, kindness, humbleness, meekness, and longsuffering.

Charlotte

One thought on “Clothe yourself with Christ: The Husband Journal Number 29

Leave a Reply

