Are we just like Mephibosheth broken? The Husband Journal Entry 27

Water lilies

And Mephibosheth lived in Jerusalem, because he always ate at the king’s table; he was lame in both feet.
Just a little bit of background on Mephibosheth, he was the grandson of Saul and the son of Jonathan.  King David was seeking any one left from the family of Saul to show kindness to. Mephibosheth became lame in both feet at an early age.
Mephibosheth felt unworthy to sit at the king’s table because of his lame feet.  He asked King David why should you recognize a dead dog like me? But David gave him a place at the king’s table regardless of his disability.
I feel like that some days.  I am afraid to come before the King and eat at his table. Why does God recognize a failure like me? While I try my best to do things according to scriptures, I fumble in my efforts.  Just yesterday, I was reminded of how I worded something to another fellow christian that wasn’t very nice, and it makes me think goodness why would God allow me to sit at his table? While I asked for forgiveness from this fellow christian, I am reminded that not only does God want us to sit at his table, but others with failures, hurts, and disappointments want us to sit right along with them. Thank goodness my fellow christian forgave me.
Friends we are all in the same boat.  We come with failures and brokenness.  But it is God who makes us worthy to eat at the King’s table.  We can come boldly to the throne of grace and ask whatever we need.  Not only that,  but our friends of the faith want you to sit there amongst them too……….in all of our brokenness and hurts and failures.  Because King David’s table wasn’t just for King David and Mephibosheth, it was for all of the royal family and that friend (if you have accepted Jesus in your heart) includes you!!
Charlotte
Leave a Reply

