Who are You Friends With?:The Husband Journal Entry Number 17

blog pictures 012Ephesians 5:33 However, each one of you also must love  his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

By the verse I picked out, you may be a little confused about how this applies to friends.  I am really looking at the last part of the verse.  The wife must respect her husband.

There are many ways to do this, but just hear me out on this one.  I just don’t have any male friends.  Let me clarify. There may be friends from church that know both of us.  But I will NOT go out of my way to have my own male friends. That is just showing respect to my husband.

Even if we have a mutual male friend,  I don’t call this person.  I don’t engage with males in conversations for the most part.  Even if my husband and I are with a male friend, I just listen and let my husband do the talking. I may make short comments on what they say, but I refuse to engage in a wholehearted discussion. And definitely my husband will hear every short comment I say if we are talking with a mutual male friend.

I never, never allow myself to be alone with a mutual male friend.

I will not go to a girlfriend’s house while the husband is there.  That just puts me in an awkward position if for some reason, she has to leave for the bathroom or something like that.

I also do not open my house door and allow a mutual male friend wait until my husband comes home.  How would that look?

Long ago the Lord convicted me about respecting my husband while I was engaged to be married to him.  I had a couple of male friends before I got married and basically, stopped any kind of contact with them during my engagement and never looked back.

Consider the friends you have and ask the Lord to guide you with your friendships.  Ask the Lord for wisdom in dealing with mutual male friends.

In Christ,

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

