Books I am Reading July 23, 2015

I finally finished reading Dr. James Dobson’s The New Dare to Discipline book.  Keep in mind that the books I read come from the library. I rarely buy books.

The thing I loved the most was true parenting experiences that he listed in his book.  He would talk about parents that he encountered and problems that they had with their children and then he would comment on their experiences.

While there was great advice of course, I think that my take away was the fact that disciplining teenagers is quite different from say elementary school children.  He doesn’t believe you should spank children beyond a certain age. Also Mr. Dobson discusses parenting questions that he has received over the years.

Another take home message was that monetary reinforcement for chores is a good thing.  Implementing chore charts are good ideas as well even for the very young.

There were lots of good points for parenting children.  The above is what I took away from the book.

My next book to read is Crystal Paine’s book on The Money Saving Mom’s Budget.

Other books I have read are 10,001 Ways to Live Large on a Small Budget by Wise Bread.  Read my review of that book here.

Leave a Reply

