Seven things to do before going to the grocery store

Here are my seven things I do before grocery shopping to make sure that I will get the best price possible.Eat. Host. Run. Style.

  1. Internet coupons- I print off any coupons from Coupons.com.  This is my main source of internet coupons.There are others like Redplum and Cellfire.
  2. Check coupon databases- like Moneysavingmom or Southernsavers.com. Why?  Because they tend to pick up internet coupons from company websites or facebook that I am not aware of.
  3. Clip coupons from the newspaper.  Each year I am given a subscription (as a Christmas gift) for a local newspaper that comes with coupons.
  4. Digital coupons- I download Kroger ecoupons to my Kroger Plus card.  When I swipe at the register, those coupons take money off a product and are listed on the grocery receipt.
  5. Make a menu plan according to what is on the sale ad.  If hamburger meat is on sale, I buy hamburger meat and hopefully there is a coupon to go with it to get deeper savings.
  6. Match coupons to sale items.  This is where you get most of your savings.  Some stores will accept a store coupon plus a manufacturer’s coupon for the item on sale. Toothpaste that is on sale for $1.00, may be bought at fifty cents by the time both coupons have been taken off at the register.
  7. Create your grocery list. For the most part, I try not to list anything that is not on sale.

I try to have at least ten to fifteen coupons in hand to take to the grocery store, plus countless ecoupons downloaded on my Kroger card. I also try not to buy anything with a coupon that is not already on sale.

These are just a few grocery saving tips that you may find helpful before you go shopping next time.

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

